Il existe de nombreux logiciels gratuits de récupération de données disponibles sur Internet. Certains produits sont des freewares tandis que d’autres proposent des versions d’essai gratuites pour évaluer l’application. Nous avons établi une liste des 5 meilleurs outils de récupération de données de 2024 qui peuvent être téléchargés et essayés gratuitement.

Aperçu rapide : Statistiques sur les Tests des Logiciels de Récupération de Données

Critères Données
🔢 Nombre d’outils testés 23
⏳ Durée des tests 2 mois
💻 Version du système d’exploitation Windows 11
💸 Coût minimum Freeware
💲 Coût moyen $89

1. Disk Drill Logiciel de Récupération de Données (Windows & Mac)

Disk Drill est un leader indéniable dans le secteur des logiciels de récupération de données. Il peut récupérer des fichiers supprimés de votre appareil même si ce dernier est défaillant, illisible, ou a perdu une partition.

Disk Drill récupération de données

Avec Disk Drill, vous pouvez facilement récupérer des photos, des vidéos, des fichiers audio et des documents supprimés sur des disques internes ou externes, des clés USB ou des cartes SD. La version Mac prend également en charge la récupération iOS et Android.

Caractéristiques:

  • Vous pouvez récupérer gratuitement jusqu’à 500 MB de données avec Disk Drill pour Windows.
  • Contrairement à ses semblables, l’application dispose de deux importantes fonctionnalités supplémentaires pour prévenir la perte de données. La première, le Coffre de Restauration, ajoute une couche de protection à la Corbeille et conserve une sauvegarde de tous les fichiers supprimés. La seconde, la Restauration Garantie, conserve une copie de chaque fichier déplacé vers un dossier préalablement sélectionné, comme par exemple la Corbeille.
  • De plus, Disk Drill permet aux utilisateurs de créer des fichiers images sous la forme de fichiers ISO, IMG ou DMG. En pratique, cela permet donc à l’utilisateur d’effectuer la recherche de données dans un clone, sans prendre de risque supplémentaire avec la source originale. Cette fonctionnalité revêt une importance particulière dans le domaine de la criminalistique.

“Disk Drill est un logiciel de récupération de données sur disque dur puissant et convivial, capable de restaurer des fichiers supprimés de pratiquement n’importe quel dispositif de stockage, offrant une solution facile et efficace pour récupérer vos données perdues ou supprimées.” – Naïm Bada, clubic.com

En résumé, Disk Drill est non seulement gratuit et complet mais aussi le meilleur logiciel de récupération de données du marché. Cela a été confirmé par de nombreux critiques indépendants sur Internet et dans des publications imprimées. CleverFiles, le développeur de Disk Drill, existe depuis de nombreuses années maintenant et reste un fournisseur de technologie respecté, basé aux États-Unis.

2. EaseUS pour Récupérer des Fichiers (Windows & Mac)

EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard n’est pas seulement un autre logiciel de récupération de données, mais aussi une application conviviale, avec une interface similaire à l’Explorateur de Windows, et un processus de récupération de fichiers facile en trois étapes.

EaseUS Récupération de fichier

Cette application est gratuite pour une récupération de données pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 500 MB (pour l’instant). Elle fonctionne sur les disques durs internes et externes, les clés USB, les cartes mémoire et de nombreux types de partitions.

Caractéristiques:

  • Regroupez les fichiers supprimés pour une récupération plus simple;
  • Qualité de récupération FAT améliorée;
  • Récupérez gratuitement jusqu’à 2 GB de données en cliquant sur le bouton de partage.

“Performances rapides et fiables. Récupère de nombreux fichiers que d’autres produits n’ont pas pu récupérer lors des tests. Tri facile des fichiers supprimés et des types de fichiers spécifiques” – Edward Mendelson, pcmag.com

En résumé, EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard représente une option pratique pour les pertes de données occasionnelles. Si l’utilisateur a besoin d’une capacité de récupération supplémentaire, le développeur propose une mise à niveau payante qui permet d’obtenir des fonctionnalités supplémentaires.

3. TestDisk (Windows & Mac)

La solution gratuite TestDisk concerne uniquement la récupération de partitions. Il s’agit d’un outil en ligne de commande qui prend en charge de nombreux systèmes d’exploitation et systèmes de fichiers. L’application est toujours entretenue par son développeur et est disponible dans une version portable.

TestDisk récupérateur de fichier

Caractéristiques:

  • Prise en charge de nombreux systèmes d’exploitation et systèmes de fichiers;
  • Récupère les partitions, les secteurs de démarrage et les File Tables;
  • Possède une version portable.

De manière générale, TestDisk est un outil très spécialisé qui ne répondra pas aux besoins des utilisateurs moyens qui ont subi des pertes de données par inadvertance. La fonctionnalité de ce logiciel peut causer des dommages supplémentaires aux données potentiellement récupérables lorsqu’il est utilisé par des personnes dont les connaissances en la matière sont insuffisantes.

4. Recuva pour Récupérer des Données (Windows)

Développé par Piriform, Recuva peut récupérer des fichiers supprimés de manière permanente, qui ont été marqués comme espace libre par le système d’exploitation.

recuva logiciel de récupération de données

Ce logiciel gratuit de récupération de données peut fonctionner sur les disques durs, les clés USB, les cartes mémoire, les lecteurs MP3 et d’autres périphériques de stockage pris en charge par les systèmes de fichiers FAT et NTFS. L’application est disponible en 32 bits et 64 bits. L’application n’a pas été mise à jour depuis plusieurs années maintenant, après que le développeur a rejoint une plus grande entreprise.

De plus, Recuva est disponible en versions installable et portable. La version portable a l’avantage d’écarter tout risque d’écraser les données encore présentes sur un disque dur, et donc de perdre des mégabytes supplémentaires du fait de sa propre utilisation.

Recuva est une application dite “freemium”, ce qui signifie que ses fonctionnalités peuvent être améliorées en acquérant une licence commerciale.

Caractéristiques:

  • Récupération gratuite et illimitée des données avec la version standard;
  • Mode d’analyse détaillée pour les fichiers difficiles à trouver;
  • Disponible en version portable.

“Recuva rend la récupération de fichiers simple et efficace, grâce à une interface intuitive. Récupérez des fichiers de divers dispositifs et restaurez ceux que vous pensiez perdus à jamais.” – fr.softonic.com

En résumé, Recuva représente un bon choix pour les utilisateurs occasionnels et plus fréquents, qui ont besoin d’une application solide pour effectuer la récupération des données perdues.

5. R-Studio (Windows, Linux, macOS)

R-Studio est notre dernière recommandation principale pour un logiciel gratuit de récupération de données, et il se distingue des précédents par un aspect important : son public cible sont les professionnels de l’IT et les utilisateurs avancés qui peuvent apprécier ses caractéristiques complètes et potentiellement déroutantes tout en naviguant dans son interface utilisateur peu accueillante.

R-Studio - outil de récupération de données professionnel pour Windows

Sa prise en charge de tous les principaux systèmes d’exploitation, y compris Windows, Linux et macOS (même des versions plus anciennes comme Windows 2000), fait de R-Studio une application logicielle de récupération de données très polyvalente capable de gérer à peu près n’importe quel système de fichiers que vous lui présentez.

R-Studio n’a également pas peur des configurations RAID, et son puissant module de reconstruction RAID peut réparer des tableaux cassés que de nombreux outils de récupération moins performants trouveraient irréparables.

Lors du test de R-Studio, nous avons examiné de près ses performances selon plusieurs critères et l’avons trouvé meilleur que la moyenne dans la plupart des situations, lui attribuant un score de performance de récupération de 64%. L’outil a été principalement freiné par son support moyen du format de fichier RAW.

Fonctionnalités :

  • Récupération illimitée de fichiers de moins de 256 Ko;
  • Capable de récupérer des fichiers à distance sur des ordinateurs clients;
  • Des licences à vie rentables sont disponibles.

Globalement, R-Studio est un outil précieux pour ceux qui nécessitent des options de récupération de données avancées. Cependant, sa complexité pourrait poser des défis pour les utilisateurs moyens qui souhaitent résoudre les problèmes courants de perte de données de la manière la plus indolore possible.

Comparaison des 5 meilleurs logiciels de récupération de fichiers

Meilleur Logiciel de Récupération de Données Plateforme Caractéristiques Uniques Protection des données intégrée Version gratuite Version Pro
1. Disk Drill Windows, Mac Récupération de données sur iPhone & iPad, Android ; Fichiers RAW pris en charge Oui 500 MB gratuits Multiplatforme, licence à vie
2. Easeus Windows, Mac Réparation des fichiers image et document Non 500 MB gratuits Sur abonnement
3. TestDisk Windows, Mac, Linux Récupération de partitions Non Logiciel gratuit Logiciel gratuit
4. Recuva Windows Version portable disponible Non Version gratuite sans assistance client Sur abonnement
5. R-Studio Windows, Mac, Linux Récupération RAID avancée Oui Récupération illimitée de fichiers <256 Ko Sur abonnement

Mention honorable

  • PhotoRec est un outil gratuit de récupération de fichiers spécialisé dans la restauration de photos depuis des cartes SD. Il est portable, utilisable sur n’importe quelle plateforme et ne nécessite pas d’installation.
  • DMDE est un logiciel de récupération de données avancé avec des fonctionnalités comme la compatibilité avec différents systèmes de fichiers et la reconstruction RAID. Malgré une interface utilisateur complexe, ses outils professionnels et son prix abordable le rendent attrayant pour les utilisateurs expérimentés. Cependant, il manque certaines fonctionnalités conviviales, le rendant moins accessible pour les débutants.
  • Minitool Power Data Recovery (Windows) offre aux utilisateurs un outil de récupération de données complet qui prend en charge plus de 100 types de fichiers différents. L’application peut restaurer des données perdues et supprimées grâce à un processus de récupération intuitif en trois étapes. Une version gratuite de l’outil (capable de récupérer jusqu’à 1 Go de données) peut être mise à niveau avec des abonnements mensuels, annuels ou à vie pour débloquer la récupération de vidéos corrompues et d’autres fonctionnalités premium.
  • Windows File Recovery, développé par Microsoft, est un outil gratuit en ligne de commande pour la récupération de données sur Windows 10 et 11, prenant en charge le balayage NTFS et basé sur la signature. Malgré son interface basique et la compatibilité limitée avec les systèmes de fichiers, il offre une solution simple pour des scénarios de récupération de données simples, comme évalué dans notre revue.
  • DiskGenius (Windows) Dans notre test de février 2024, DiskGenius s’est distingué pour ses capacités avancées de récupération de données et de gestion de disque sur Windows, offrant la gestion de partitions et le clonage de disque. Son modèle freemium fournit des fonctionnalités de base dans l’essai, avec des versions payantes (69,90 $-699,90 $) débloquant des options de récupération étendues pour divers systèmes de fichiers. Malgré sa fonctionnalité complète, incluant la récupération EXT2/3/4 et RAID virtuel, l’interface complexe du logiciel peut poser des défis aux utilisateurs non techniques.

Comment nous testons les logiciels de récupération de données

Chez CleverFiles, nous utilisons une méthodologie de test rigoureuse et complète pour évaluer les logiciels de récupération de données. Ce processus est conçu pour évaluer l’efficacité de chaque outil dans des scénarios réels, afin que nous puissions baser nos recommandations sur des résultats vérifiables. Voici un aperçu rapide de notre méthode de test :

  1. Préparation des données : D’abord, nous rassemblons un large éventail de types de fichiers, incluant des images, vidéos, documents, archives de fichiers, et plus, pour couvrir une large gamme de scénarios de perte de données.
  2. Préparation du dispositif de stockage : Ensuite, nous utilisons l’ensemble de données pour préparer un dispositif de stockage pour le test. Typiquement, nous créons un disque dur virtuel (VHD), en utilisant des outils comme la Gestion des disques Windows et WinHex, puis simuler des situations réelles de perte de données.
  3. Tentative de récupération : Nous scannons ensuite le dispositif de stockage préparé en utilisant le logiciel de récupération de données que nous testons. Si l’outil de récupération offre plusieurs modes de récupération, nous les testons tous séparément.
  4. Analyse des résultats et du processus de récupération : Une fois le processus de récupération terminé, nous pouvons analyser la quantité et la qualité des données récupérées. Nous évaluons également le processus de récupération en termes de facilité d’utilisation.
  5. Notation et classement : Basés sur nos trouvailles, nous attribuons une note à chaque logiciel pour sa performance dans la récupération de divers types de fichiers et l’expérience utilisateur globale, ainsi que d’autres facteurs, qui sont détaillés dans la section suivante.

Comment choisir le meilleur logiciel de récupération des données

Vous ne devriez jamais utiliser un logiciel de récupération de fichiers sans avoir soigneusement évalué auparavant s’il s’agit vraiment du meilleur outil pour cette tâche. Au mieux, vous risquez de perdre un temps précieux. Et de l’autre côté du spectre, vous pourriez ruiner vos chances de récupérer vos données supprimées.

Lorsque vous choisissez un logiciel de récupération de fichiers, ne vous arrêtez pas aux captures d’écran et allégations marketing extravagantes mais tenez compte des critères suivants:

⚙️ Performance

Votre objectif ultime étant de récupérer tous les fichiers supprimés, les performances de récupération des données sont, de loin, le critère de sélection le plus important auquel vous devez prêter attention pour choisir le meilleur logiciel. Certaines applications ne peuvent récupérer des données qu’à partir d’une corbeille qui n’a pas encore été vidée, et ces applications sont nettement moins utiles que celles capables de récupérer des fichiers supprimés de manière définitive et qui ne sont plus présents dans la corbeille.

📸 Systèmes de fichiers pris en charge

La perte de données ne se limite pas aux disques durs rotatifs traditionnels : elle affecte tous les périphériques de stockage, y compris les disques durs à mémoire flash modernes, les clés USB et les cartes mémoire. Comme vous ne pouvez jamais savoir quel périphérique de stockage vous aurez besoin de restaurer ensuite, vous devriez choisir une application de récupération de données capable de récupérer les données perdues à partir des systèmes de fichiers de périphériques de stockage internes et externes, notamment NTFS, FAT, FAT32, exFAT, HFS+, APFS, ext2/3/4, et autres.

💻 Système d’exploitation Pris en Charge

À moins que cela ne vous dérange pas d’utiliser un système d’exploitation différent juste pour récupérer vos données supprimées, vous devriez choisir un outil qui prend en charge votre système d’exploitation principal. Heureusement, il existe de nombreuses options excellentes pour les utilisateurs de Windows et de Mac ; Même les utilisateurs de Linux ont la possibilité de choisir parmi plusieurs solutions.

🏞️ Types de fichiers pris en charge

Le logiciel doit être en mesure d’annuler la suppression de tous les types de fichiers couramment utilisés, notamment les fichiers audio, les vidéos, les images, les documents, les fichiers exécutables, les archives et les sauvegardes.

Ensemble de caractéristiques

Il existe plusieurs fonctionnalités que toutes les bonnes solutions logicielles de récupération de données devraient avoir, telles que la possibilité de prévisualiser les fichiers supprimés avant la récupération, de restaurer uniquement des fichiers spécifiques et de récupérer des données sur des appareils défaillants, partiellement illisibles ou ayant perdu une partition.

🛒 Prix

Ce n’est pas parce que vous pouvez télécharger et installer une application gratuitement que vous pouvez également l’utiliser pour récupérer des données supprimées sans payer. Lorsque vous choisissez le meilleur logiciel de récupération de données, il est judicieux de commencer avec un certain budget en tête et de donner la priorité aux applications qui y correspondent. Lorsque vous comparez les prix de chaque logiciel, n’oubliez pas que certaines applications sont basées sur un abonnement (ce qui signifie que vous êtes facturé chaque mois/année), et que certaines offrent une licence à vie et parfois même des mises à jour à vie.

🔒 Sécurité

La dernière chose que vous souhaitez faire est d’installer un outil infecté par un logiciel malveillant ou créé par quelqu’un qui ne sait pas comment récupérer des fichiers supprimés en toute sécurité. C’est pourquoi vous devez vous en tenir aux solutions populaires qui disposent de nombreux avis positifs en ligne et de nombreux utilisateurs satisfaits. 

Conclusion

À la suite de tests approfondis des applications évaluées, nous sommes convaincus que Disk Drill est le meilleur logiciel gratuit de récupération de données. L’impressionnante gamme de fonctionnalités et l’assistance technique pour les nouveaux utilisateurs sont les points forts de CleverFiles. N’oubliez pas qu’il peut non seulement récupérer vos données perdues, mais aussi protéger vos fichiers existants contre toute suppression accidentelle.

Questions fréquentes

Choisissez une note4.8 sur 5 • 961 votes
Notez l'article !
Dans quelle mesure cet article vous a-t-il été utile ?
Robert Agar

Robert Agar, écrivain dédié à la récupération de données, a été une partie essentielle de l'équipe CleverFiles pendant plus de 6 ans. Avant cela, il a enrichi IBM pendant 13 ans en tant qu'expert en matière de sauvegarde ...

Read full bio
Avatar
Approved by
Brett Johnson

Cet article a été approuvé par Brett Johnson, ingénieur en récupération de données chez ACE Data Recovery. Brett est titulaire d'un diplôme en systèmes et réseaux informatiques, et comptabilise 12 ans d'expérience.

There are many free data recovery software products available on the Internet. Some products are freeware while others offer free trial downloads of the tool for evaluation. We’ve put together a list of the 5 best data recovery tools of 2024 that can be downloaded and tried for free.

Quick Glance: Data Recovery Software Testing Statistics

Number of tested tools 23
How long we tested 2 months
OS version Windows 11
Minimum cost Freeware
Average cost $89

1. Disk Drill Data Recovery (Windows & Mac)

Disk Drill Data Recovery is an undeniable leader among data recovery software, it can recover deleted files from your device even if it is crashed, formatted, or has lost a partition.

Disk Drill - best free data recovery software

With Disk Drill you can easily recover deleted photos, videos, music files, and documents from internal or external drives, USB flash drives, SD cards, etc. The Mac version supports iOS and Android recovery as well.

In our tests, Disk Drill achieved a perfect usability rating of 100% as well as a best-in-class recovery performance rating of 90% (Windows version) and 95% (macOS version). It stood out as an excellent RAW image and video file recovery tool, with support for file formats used by virtually all major camera manufacturers, including Canon, Nikon, Olympus, and others. 

Features:

  • You can recover up to 500MB of data for free with Disk Drill for Windows.
  • Unlike any other, the app has two important additional data loss prevention functionalities. The first, Recovery Vault, adds a layer to the Recycle Bin and keeps a backup reference to all deleted files. The second, Guaranteed Recovery, keeps a copy of each file moved to a previously selected folder, as for example the Recycle Bin.
  • In addition, Disk Drill allows users to create image files in the form of ISO or DMG files. Therefore in practice, enables the user to conduct the data search in a clone, without taking any additional risk with the original source. This functionality is of particular importance in forensic science.

“Disk Drill is an excellent free file recovery program, both because of its long list of features and its exceptionally simple-to-use interface.” – Tim Fisher, lifewire.com

Summarizing, Disk Drill is not only free and comprehensive but also the best-buy data recovery software. It has been confirmed by plentiful independent reviewers on the Internet and printed publications. CleverFiles, the developer of Disk Drill, has been around for many years and is a respected technology provider, based in the USA.


2. EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard (Windows & Mac)

EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard is a great alternative to our top pick because it offers a similarly smooth user experience and a three-step easy file recovery process.

Easeus free data recovery wizard for windows

This app is free for recovering data up to 2 GB (for the time being). It works on internal and external hard drives, USB flash drives, memory cards and various types of partitions.

Our tests have revealed that EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard can scan a storage device very quickly and recover a praise-worthy quantity of files from it—even during scanning. Unfortunately, the speed of recording found files to a safe destination is much slower, so the total time to recover lost data isn’t as impressive as it would be otherwise. 

Features:

  • The success rate of recovery is excellent when retrieving data from storage devices that use the NTFS file system and average when it comes to FAT32 and exFAT file systems;
  • Group deleted files with Tags for simpler recovery;
  • Recover up to 2 GB of data for free for clicking the share button.

“Fast, reliable performance. Recovers many files other products couldn’t recover in testing. Easy sorting of deleted files and specific file types” – Edward Mendelson, pcmag.com

In brief, EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard presents a practical option for casual data losses. If the user needs extra recovery capacity, the developer offers a paid upgrade that gains extra functionality.


3. TestDisk Data Recovery (Windows & Mac)

TestDisk is a freeware solution that shines the most when it comes to partition recovery. It is a command-line tool that supports many operating systems and filesystems. The app is still supported by its developer and is available in a bootable version.

Testdisk free partition recovery software for windows

When we evaluated TestDisk, we knew that the tool’s purpose is to recover lost partitions and found that TestDisk excels in these areas. What many don’t know is that it can also recover loss data from FAT12, FAT16, FAT32, ext2, and NTFS filesystems.

Features:

  • Wide operating system and filesystem support;
  • Recovers partitions, boot sectors, and file tables;
  • Has a bootable version.

Overall, TestDisk is a very specialized tool that will not serve the needs of average users suffering from inadvertent data loss. The functionality of this software can cause additional damage to potentially recoverable data when used by individuals with insufficient training.

“As a free partition and file recovery solution, TestDisk and PhotoRec does everything a domestic user might expect.” – Sofia Elizabella Wyciślik-Wilson, techradar.com


4. Recuva (Windows)

Developed by Piriform, Recuva can recover permanently deleted files, which have been marked as free space by the operating system. Recuva is a freemium app, meaning that its functionality can be enhanced by acquiring a commercial license.

best freeware data recovery software for Windows - Recuva

This free data recovery software can work on hard drives, USB flash drives, memory cards, MP3 players, and other storage devices supported by FAT, exFAT, and NTFS file systems. The app comes in 32-bit and 64-bit versions. After the developer joined a bigger enterprise, the app hasn’t received a major update in several years (only small bug fixes).

Despite not being significantly updated for a long time, Recuva still offers plenty of value, as confirmed by our tests of the software. Yes, its recovery performance is below average (the software achieved only 31% of success), but its free price tag and great usability make up for it. 

The premium version of Recuva adds support for virtual hard drives and automatic updates, and its users also receive prioritized customer support. If that doesn’t seem like a lot, then that’s because it isn’t—premium versions of competing products offer a lot more. But at least the paid version of Recuva is inexpensive. 

Features:

  • Unlimited free data recovery with the standard version;
  • Deep scan mode for hard-to-find files;
  • It’s available in a portable version.

“Recuva is attractively priced and easy to use, though it can’t dig in quite as deeply as higher-priced data recovery software.” – Edward Mendelson, pcmag.com

In summary, Recuva presents a good choice for both users, casual and frequent, that require a solid app for data loss recovery.


5. R-Studio (Windows, Linux, macOS)

R-Studio is our last top recommendation for free data recovery software, and it differs from the previous ones in one important aspect: its target audience are IT professionals and power users who can appreciate its comprehensive and potentially confusing features while navigating its uninviting user interface. 

R-Studio - professional data recovery tool for Windows

Its support for all major operating systems, including Windows, Linux, and macOS (even older versions like Windows 2000), makes R-Studio a highly versatile data recovery software application that can handle just about any file system you throw at it. 

R-Studio also isn’t afraid of RAID configurations, and its powerful RAID reconstruction module can fix broken arrays that many lesser recovery tools would find unfixable. It can also address the most unique data loss scenarios thanks to its support for custom file types and professional data recovery hardware like the DeepSpar Disk Imager and USB Stabilizer.

When testing R-Studio, we closely examined its performance across multiple criteria and found it to be better than average in most situations, earning it a recovery performance score of 64%. The tool was held back mostly by its average RAW file format support. 

Features:

  • Unlimited recovery of files that are less than 256 KB large;
  • Capable of recovering files remotely on client computers;
  • Cost-effective lifetime licenses are available.

“R-Studio for Windows is a respectable data recovery software application that deserves the attention of all data recovery professionals and advanced Windows users.” – David Morelo, pandorarecovery.com

”I would try out R-Photos, by the same people as R-Studio. It’s free, or at least a 30-day unlimited trial. If it gives you a good result, go with it.” – Zorb750, reddit.com/r/datarecovery

Overall, R-Studio is a valuable tool for those who require advanced data recovery options. However, its complexity might pose challenges for average users who want to address common problems with data loss as painlessly as possible. 

Comparison of the 5 Best File Recovery Software

Best Data Recovery Software Platform Unique Features Built-in Data Protection Free version Pro version
1. Disk Drill Windows, Mac iPhone & iPad data recovery; Android data recovery Yes 500 MB for free Multiplatform lifetime license
2. Easeus Data Recovery Windows, Mac Image files and documents repair supported No 2 GB for free Subscription-based
3. Recuva Windows Portable version available No Free plan without customer support Subscription-based
4. TestDisk Windows, Mac, Linux Partition recovery No Freeware Freeware
5. R-Studio Windows, Linux, macOS Network recovery Yes Recovers files smaller than 256 KB Subscription + lifetime licenses

Honorable Mention

  • PhotoRec is a powerful free file recovery tool that can be used to recover photos, videos, documents, and other files from SD cards, making it a versatile alternative to the above-recommended solutions. With its signature advanced file carving capabilities, it is able to sort through data fragments scattered across memory cards and can bring back lost files, deal with fragmentation in JPEG files, and more. What’s more, it doesn’t require no installation and is available to use from any platform with no cost or license required.
  • DMDE (DM Disk Editor and Data Recovery Software) is an advanced data recovery tool with a robust set of features, including extensive file system compatibility, RAID reconstruction, and a high-speed scanning and recovery process. Despite a complex interface and a steep learning curve, its professional-grade utilities and affordability make it a solid choice for tech-savvy users. Additionally, it offers a free trial, allowing potential users to evaluate its performance before purchase. However, it lacks user-friendly features like intuitive scanning, session management, and real-time recovery during scans, making it less suitable for beginners.
  • Minitool Power Data Recovery (Windows) offers users a comprehensive data recovery tool that supports over 100 different file types. The application can restore lost and deleted data with an intuitive three-step recovery process. A free version of the tool (capable of recovering up to 1 GB of data) can be upgraded with monthly, yearly, or lifetime subscriptions to unlock corrupted video recovery and other premium features.
  • Windows File Recovery, developed by Microsoft, is a freeware command-line tool for data recovery on Windows 10 and 11, supporting NTFS and signature-based scanning. Despite its basic interface and limited file system compatibility, it offers a straightforward solution for simple data recovery scenarios, as evaluated in our review.
  • DiskGenius (Windows) In our 2024 test, DiskGenius stood out for its advanced data recovery and disk management capabilities on Windows, offering partition management and disk cloning. Its freemium model provides basic features in the trial, with paid versions ($69.90-$699.90) unlocking extensive recovery options for various file systems. Despite its comprehensive functionality, including EXT2/3/4 and virtual RAID recovery, the software’s complex interface may challenge non-technical users.

How We Test Data Recovery Software

At CleverFiles we employ a rigorous and comprehensive testing methodology to evaluate data recovery software. This process is designed to assess each tool’s effectiveness in real-life scenarios so that we can base our recommendations on verifiable results. Here’s a quick overview of how we test: 

  1. Dataset preparation: First, we gather a wide range of file types, including images, videos, documents, file archives, and more, to cover a wide range of data loss scenarios. 
  2. Storage device preparation: Next, we use the dataset to prepare a storage device for testing. Typically, we create a virtual hard drive (VHD), utilizing tools like Windows Disk Management and WinHex, and then simulate real-world data loss situations. 
  3. Recovery attempt: We then scan the prepared storage device using the data recovery software we’re testing. If the recovery tool offers multiple recovery modes, we test them all separately. 
  4. Recovery results and process analysis: With the recovery process completed, we can analyze the quantity and quality of recovered data. We also evaluate the recovery process in terms of ease of use. 
  5. Scoring and ranking: Based on our findings, we score each software for its performance in recovering various file types and overall user experience, as well as other factors, which are detailed in the next section. 

How to Pick the Best Data Recovery Software

You should never use a data recovery software application without first carefully evaluating whether it’s really the best tool for the job. At best, you might lose valuable time. At worse, you might ruin your chances of recovering your deleted data.

When selecting file recovery software, look beyond screenshots and extravagant marketing claims and consider the following criteria:

⚙️ Performance

Since your ultimate goal is to get back all deleted files, file recovery performance is, by far, the most important selection criteria you need to pay attention to when selecting the best software. Some applications can recover data only from the Recycle Bin that hasn’t been emptied, and such applications are significantly less useful than those capable of retrieving permanently deleted files that are no longer present in the Recycle Bin.

📸 Files System Support

Data loss isn’t limited to traditional spinning hard drives—it affects all storage devices, including modern solid-state drives, USB flash drives, and memory cards. Since you can never know which storage device you’ll need to recover next, you should pick a data recovery application that’s able to recover lost data from file systems intended for both internal and external storage devices, including NTFS, FAT, FAT32, exFAT, HFS+, APFS, ext2/3/4, and others.

💻 Operating System Supported

Unless you don’t mind using a different operating system just to recover your deleted data, you should select tool that supports your main operating system. Fortunately, there are many great options available to Windows and Mac users alike, and even Linux users have several solutions to choose from.

🏞 File Type Support

The software should be able to undelete all commonly used file types, including audio files, video, images, documents, executable files, archives, and backups.

Set of Features

There are several features all good data recovery software solutions should have, such as the ability to preview deleted files before recovery, the ability to recover only specific files, and the ability to recover data from devices that are failing, partially unreadable, or have lost a partition.

🛒 Price

Just because you can download and install an application for free doesn’t necessarily mean that you can also use it to recover deleted data without paying. When selecting the best data recovery software, it’s a good idea to start with a certain budget in mind and prioritize apps that fit into it. When comparing prices, remember that some applications are subscription-based (which means that you get charged every month/year), and some offer a lifetime license and sometimes even lifetime updates.

🔒 Security

The last thing you want is to install a tool infected with malware or created by someone who doesn’t know how to recover deleted files securely. That’s why you should stick to popular solutions with plenty of positive online reviews and many satisfied users. 

Conclusion

As a result of extensive testing of the reviewed apps, we are confident in naming Disk Drill the best free data recovery software. The impressive feature set and technical support for the first-time users score high for CleverFiles. Remember, it can not only recover your lost data but also protect your existing files from being deleted accidentally.

FAQ

Choose rating4.8 out of 5 • 956 votes
Rate the article!
How helpful was the article for you?
Robert Agar

Robert Agar, a dedicated data recovery writer, has been a pivotal part of the CleverFiles team for over 6 years. Before this, he enriched IBM for 13 years as a Backup and Recovery: TSM Subject Matter Expert. A proud alumn...

Read full bio
Avatar
Approved by
Brett Johnson

This article has been approved by Brett Johnson, Data Recovery Engineer at ACE Data Recovery. Brett has a Bachelor's Degree in Computer Systems and Network, 12 years of experience.