如何从FAT文件系统恢复数据

FAT文件系统的名称源自于其主要组件:文件分配表。此文件系统诞生于20世纪80年代。微软通过其DOS和Windows操作系统对其进行了推广。

FAT文件系统是如何运作的?

FAT最初使用的是每条目8位元,如今已经进化成版本FAT12, FAT16 和 FAT32,其各自分别使用的是12,16和32位元。通常来说,微软对之前的老版本不作区分,将它们统称为FAT。

胖數據恢復

此文件系统的主要元素是文件分配表(FAT),其在格式化时间进行分配。FAT系统将存储空间分成若干集群。FAT表包含了每一个集群的条目。对于已使用集群,每一个条目包含下一集群的号码,或文件结束符。除此之外,它在未使用和保留集群之间作了群分。保留集群是操作系统所使用的特殊集群。

目录在相同的表内予以描述。如果是根目录,FAT表包含了那个目录中每一个文件的首个集群的号码。操作系统用它可以构建一个集群链,直到达成文件结束符。子目录以相似方式予以对待。

FAT32文件系统的最大文件限制是4G,其原因在于目录表中的条目长度。

总体而言,FAT文件系统的架构是简单高效的,而且经过了时间的考验。它如今仍作为很多可移动存储设备的默认文件系统在使用着,如USB记忆棒,闪存和固态记忆卡,等等。

基本上所有的操作系统都会考虑它。使用MacOS X的Apple计算机在除根磁盘之外的卷标上都支持它。因此FAT是使用最为广泛的文件系统架构。

我如何恢复我的丢失数据?

删除FAT文件系统中的文件只是意味着将它从FAT表中移除。数据在集群被另一个文件覆写之前仍然是原封未动的。作为结果,已删除的数据在存储空间被再次使用之前可以通过部分FAT恢复软件予以恢复,如Disk Drill,

Disk Drill可用于Windows和Mac计算机。基础版可免费下载。完全版需付费。

Disk Drill数据恢复应用

我如何使用Disk Drill恢复我的数据?

Disk Drill可以有效用于找回使用FAT文件系统的存储设备中的丢失文件。Disk Drill有两大选项,用户可以在菜单中进行选择:

  1. 快速扫描
  2. 深度扫描

快速扫描可首先进行尝试,例如,在文件刚刚删除之后。深度扫描提供了搜索之前丢失文件的可能性。

Disk Drill
免费数据恢复
您的已删除文件恢复伴侣

FAT快速和深度扫描。

一旦选定了快速或深度扫描,Disk Drill即会继续Fat 32数据恢复过程。结果连同选择不同文件类型的选项菜单会一起出现。此外,它还可以根据大小和日期进行过滤。

Fat 32数据恢复。扫描随时可以暂停(暂停选项)。会话还可以予以保存以备后续使用(保存会话选项)。

我如何限缩文件搜索?

Disk Drill的Fat数据恢复可以使用首选项更加高效地完成。此选项使得用户能够通过选择特定的文件类型来限缩搜索范围。

我如何预防数据丢失?

数据丢失可以通过保护选项以及开启恢复保险箱来轻松预防。

恢复保险箱实际上是为回收站增添了另外一个保护层。它提供了对抗数据丢失的另一重防护。

作为替代,备份恢复(GR)是Mac用户的选择。启用后,它会保留发送至特定文件夹中的任何文件的副本,如回收站。

我如何使用Disk Drill创建备份?

在附加菜单,Disk Drill提供了“备份入可恢复磁盘映像”选项。此选项提供了三种不同文件格式的数据备份:img,dmg和iso。文件之后可以通过Disk Drill或任何其他文件映像应用来找回。

How do I recover data from a FAT file system

fat data recovery

How Does The FAT File System Work?

The FAT file system derives his name from its main component: the File Allocation Table. This file system has been around since the 1980s. Microsoft promoted it through its DOS and Windows operating systems.

Originally, using 8 bits per entry, it has evolved into versions FAT12, FAT16 and FAT32, each using 12, 16 and 32 bits respectively. Usually, Microsoft doesn’t differentiate between the older versions, and refers to them as FAT.

The main element of this file system is the File Allocation Table (FAT), which is allocated at formatting time. The FAT system divides the storage space into clusters. The FAT table contains entries for each cluster. For used clusters, each entry contains the number of the next cluster, or an end-of-file marker. Otherwise, it differentiates between unused and reserved clusters. Reserved are special clusters used by the operating system.

Directories are described in the same table. In the case of the root directory, the FAT table contains the number of the first cluster of each file in that directory. Using it, the operating system can build a cluster chain until it reaches the end-of-file marker. Sub-directories are treated in a similar manner.

The FAT32 file system has maximum file size of 4G limitation, which is due to the length of the entry in the directory table.

Overall, the FAT file system architecture is simple, efficient and has passed the test of time. It is still in use, being the default file system in many removable storage devices, such as USB sticks, flash and solid state memory cards, and many more.

Basically all operating systems consider it. Apple computers, using the MacOS X operating system, support it on volumes other that the boot disk. FAT is thus, the most widespread file system architecture.

How Do I Recover My Lost Data?

Deleting a file in the FAT file system simply means removing it from the FAT table. The data remains untouched until the clusters are overwritten by another file. As a result, deleted data can be recovered with some FAT recovery software, such as Disk Drill, before the storage space is used again.

Disk Drill is available for Windows and Mac computers. The Basic version is available for free download. The full version is commercial.

fat data recovery

How Do I Recover My Data with Disk Drill?

Disk Drill can be efficiently used to retrieve lost files from a storage device using the FAT file system. There are two options, which are accessible through the menu:

  1. Quick Scan
  2. Deep Scan

Quick scan can be tried first, for example, after a recent deletion. Deep scan offers the possibility of searching for old lost files.

Download Disk Drill data recovery app for Windows  for Mac

FAT Quick and Deep Scan.

Once either Quick or Deep Scan is selected, Disk Drill proceeds with the fat 32 data recovery process. The results are presented results together with a menu with options to select different file types. In addition, it can filter according to size and date

Fat 32 data recovery. The scanning can be paused at any time and continued later (PAUSE option). The session can also be saved for later use (SAVE SESSION option).

How Do I Narrow The File Search?

Fat data recovery with Disk Drill can be done more efficiently by using the Preferences option. This option permits narrowing the search by selecting a specific file type.

How Do I Prevent Data Loss?

Data loss can be easily prevented by using the Protect option and turning on the Recovery Vault

The Recovery Vault is basically another layer added to the Recycle Bin. It provides another line of defense against data loss.

Alternatively, Guaranteed Recovery (GR) is an option for Macs. If enabled, it keeps a copy of any file sent to a specified folder, such as the Trash

How Do I Create A Back Up With Disk Drill?

In the Extras menu, Disk Drill has a “Back up into recoverable disk image” option. This selection provides data back up in three different file formats: img, dmg and iso. The files can later be retrieved with Disk Drill or any other file image application

Still have questions?  Contact us  or visit our  Public forum