i’m being very dumb here, but deliberately, just checking: once i enabled Recovery Vault, it’s always there unless I turn it off, right?
Especially, I DON’T need to run Disk Drill every time i log into my machine, Recovery Vault will be running anyway… Right?
Sorry for literalness, i can’t find that being unequivocally stated anywhere, and I don’t want to be just wasting my time…
If you need Recovery Vault protection, and it’s on, the daemon that monitors your file activity and lets you recover files easily afterwards should be running all the time. If you don’t need Recovery Vault, you can just disable it. However, Disk Drill will still be using it to access the disks you are recovering from on a low level. So, Recovery Vault actually serves several important purposes inside of Disk Drill. We are considering to offer a special version that is able to run only for one-time recovery some time soon.